Welcome! This guide is your source for finding information on energy. Find links to research sources, including ebooks and websites.
Ebook available on Sora.
From the first simple steam engine to advanced hydrogen fuel cells, delve into the history of energy with the 12 Biggest Breakthroughs in Energy Technology. Each chapter focuses on the development of an instrumental piece of technology, connecting inventions that have led to life today. Fascinating historical and modern photos with intriguing layouts and design features support the text. Thoughtful sidebars, "Think About It" prompts, and numbers-based quick facts will get readers' gears turning. An in-depth fact sheet, glossary, and suggestions for further learning make this book a complete learning experience.
Both print and ebook available.
Can nuclear energy be a clean, green, and safe way to power our lives? Discover the answer to this critical question and find out how sustainability is being achieved through science as the energy industry evolves in its quest to find solutions to our energy crisis. In this inspiring science book readers will find out why we burn fossil fuels, the harm it is causing, and why evolution in the nuclear industry could make it a powerful weapon in the fight to create a sustainable future.
Both print and ebook available.
Beneath the earth is a treasure trove of heat energy, but how can it help us power our lives? Discover the answer to this critical question and find out how sustainability is being achieved through science as the energy industry evolves in its quest to find solutions to our energy crisis. In this inspiring science book readers will find out why we burn fossil fuels, the harm it is causing, and why evolution in the geothermal industry could make it a powerful weapon in the fight to create a sustainable future.
Both print and ebook available.
What is biomass energy and how can it help us power our lives? Discover the answer to this critical question and find out how sustainability is being achieved through science as the energy industry evolves in its quest to find solutions to our energy crisis. In this inspiring science book readers will find out why we burn fossil fuels, the harm it is causing, and why evolution in the biomass industry could make it a powerful weapon in the fight to create a sustainable future.
Ebook available on Sora.
The sun fuels life on Earth! But do you know that the sun can also heat houses and make electricity through solar energy? Learn what solar energy is, how we harness it, and how people have used this science in the real world. Use what you learn to help save the school budget by using solar energy from your own solar farm! Includes a note to caregivers, a glossary, a discover activity, and career connections, as well as connections to science history.
Ebook available on Sora.
Examines how people use technology to harvest heat and electricity from sunlight.
Ebook available on Sora.
This Title Explains How All Forms Of Energy Belong To One Of Two Groups; Potential Or Kinetic. It Addresses How Energy Can Be Used In The Form Of Water To Create Electricity, In The Form Of Solar To Heat Our Homes, And In The Form Of Wind To Turn The Blades On A Wind Turbine.
Ebook available on Sora.
The endless and enormous power of the sun provides life to all organisms on Earth, from the smallest plant to the largest animal. This awesome power is being used today to provide a rich and abundant source of energy in many parts of the world, and to operate machinery and heat and light buildings. Discover how the sun is powering our planet, the technology used to harness it, and what the future of solar power could be.
Ebook available on Sora.
Our planet's weather offers some incredible solutions to our growing energy needs, and one of those solutions is wind power. Offshore and onshore wind farms are an increasingly familiar sight in many countries around the world. Wind farms tap into this clean, sustainable, and renewable form of energy. Find out how wind power works, where in the world it is being used, and how this green energy supply could be one answer to the energy problems that face us today.
Ebook available on Sora.
Renewable energy is one of the leading environmental issues today. In this book, readers will learn about the importance and growth of renewable energy. Large-scale and personal solutions to fossil fuels are also presented. Colorful and clear graphics, such as maps, charts, and infographics, give readers an alternative to text-heavy sources. Action-based activities will leave students with ideas for improving the world around them. Book also includes a glossary, index, suggested books and websites, and a bibliography.
Both print and ebook available.
Wind blows across Earth with an enormous force, but how can we harness it to power our lives? Discover the answer to this critical question and find out how sustainability is being achieved through science as the energy industry evolves in its quest to find solutions to our energy crisis. In this inspiring science book readers will find out why we burn fossil fuels, the harm it is causing, and why evolution in the wind power industry could make it a powerful weapon in the fight to create a sustainable future.
Both print and ebook available.
The heat from the sun is immense, but how can we harness it to power our lives? Discover the answer to this critical question and find out how sustainability is being achieved through science as the energy industry evolves in its quest to find solutions to our energy crisis. In this inspiring science book readers will find out why we burn fossil fuels, the harm it is causing, and why evolution in solar power industry could make it a powerful weapon in the fight to create a sustainable future.
Ebook available on Sora.
Earth has a limited supply of fossil fuels, and in the near future this supply will come to an end. However, more people live on the planet than ever in its history - and they all need energy. One of the ways in which we can meet this increasing demand for energy is through nuclear power. Nuclear power stations do not drain our planet of its resources, and they can supply a seemingly limitless source of energy. Discover more about nuclear energy, how it is created and harnessed, and the controversies and challenges that surround it.
Ebook available on Sora.
Pollution and mining for resources have negatively impacted Earth. Nonrenewable resources will someday run out. Then what? In this title readers will learn about alternative energy sources such as solar, wind, and geothermal energy, and what they can do to positively affect Earth. Meets Next Generation Science Standards.
Ebook available on Sora.
Charge up with Max Axiom as he explores the globe to understand renewable energy! Learn about all kinds of renewable energy sources and the benefits of using them. With writing prompts and discussion questions, and a hands-on activity, Max helps young readers understand how renewable energy could change our lives and take care of our world.
Ebook available on Sora.
This book helps children to develop critical thinking and debating skills. It examines the topic of sustainable energy in a lively and accessible way. Information is presented to help readers deliberate, debate, and decide for themselves. The book looks at the importance of sustainable energy, the pros and cons of different methods, and how sustainable energy is likely to develop in the future.
Citing (saying where you got your information) and providing a bibliography (or list of those sources) is a way of giving credit to the original authors and creators whose works you've used.
By giving credit, you are being honest in how you use the resources you find and you are also respecting the law of copyright (the legal right of authors/creators over their creations).
Here are some tools to help you create citations and a bibliography:
Information you will need:
Example:
Rowling, J.K. (2021). Harry Potter and the half-blood prince. Bloomsbury Children's Books.
EBooks: just add the ebook link to your book reference!
Example:
Rowling, J.K. (2021). Harry Potter and the half-blood prince. Bloomsbury Children's Books. https://soraapp.com/library/theyorkschoolca/search/query-harry%20potter%20and%20the%20half-blood%20prince/titles/200131/791288
Information you will need:
Example:
Crossingham, J. (2022, June 07). Ancient city revealed after dam dries up. , Retrieved from https://owlconnected.com/archives/ancient-city-revealed.
Information you will need:
Example:
Smith, J. (2013). Learning to reference articles. School database. www.schooldatabase.com/learning-to-reference-articles/123456xyz.
Information you will need:
Example:
Lava by Denali National Park and Preserve, 2013, Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/denalinps/8639280606/).