Welcome! This guide is designed to support your research and writing about climate change. Use the tabs at the top of the guide to navigate between pages and spend some time exploring the many topic-specific resources available for you to use.
On this page, you can find:
Climate change is perhaps the largest issue facing your generation. How could you make a positive change in such a complex issue?
Your task: Take one of the causes of global climate change and educate your audience about the impact it has on not just everyone but the most vulnerable.
There's nothing wrong with using Google or another search engine to find information on the web. Just keep in mind that most of the information retrieved from the open web hasn't been evaluated. This means that websites you find could be inaccurate, biased, or they might not be current. Also, the authors of websites you find on the open web might not have the same credentials as the authors of articles found in research databases. All of the articles found in the library databases have already been evaluated for accuracy and credibility by experts and publishers, which will make the research process much easier for you!
Encyclopedias are a great starting point for your research on a particular topic. They can give you introductory information that will help you decide how to broaden or narrow your topic, while also providing keywords and terms needed to conduct further research.
Here are two online encyclopedias available from the library that you can use to get your research started:
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowResearch databases offer students access to thousands of books, magazine articles, images, charts and primary sources. These databases also contain scholarly and peer-reviewed articles written by credible authors, such as journalists, researchers and experts in their field. Databases also provide powerful search tools for narrowing results, so you can find the information you need more quickly.
Here are some databases the library provides that may be especially helpful for your assignment:
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowBooks can be a great place to find in-depth coverage of a subject, the history and chronology of a topic, an overview of a big topic, background information, and bibliographies (lists of sources referenced by the author) that can lead you to additional useful information.
You don't need to read a book cover-to-cover for it to be useful to your research. Check to see if a book has a table of contents (to give you a general idea of the topics covered in the book), an index (an alphabetical list of the specific subjects in the book with corresponding page numbers; usually located in the back), or a preface/foreword/introduction that may tell you more about the author's intention or purpose for writing the book.
Here is a collection of resources compiled for Eco Week that are available to borrow from the library or digitally from Sora:
