In this stage of the research process, you'll start to identify how and where you will gather source material for your research.
The important thing to remember is to not be overwhelmed by the amount of information out there, just collect what you think might be useful to you. If you look in the right places and search efficiently you can find relevant resources quickly and easily.
There are many information sources, from the obvious ones like books, magazines, newspapers and Internet sites to those you may not immediately think of such as maps, annual reports, conference proceedings and theses. All sources have strengths and weaknesses and you should consider these when deciding on the most appropriate sources to use in your research.
Use these tips to help you search a variety of information sources including databases, library catalogs, and the Internet.
Source: West Sound Academy Library. (n.d.). Extended Essay: Step 7. Identify Sources. https://libguides.westsoundacademy.org/ee/identify-sources
Boolean searching is the most powerful way of searching a computer and can be used in many library databases, the Internet (Google), as well as our library catalogue.
Boolean searching uses three "operators" (AND, OR, NOT) to combine your keywords into a more targeted and effective searches.
Source: School District of Onalaska. (n.d.). Boolean Commands Explained. https://sites.google.com/a/onalaskaschools.com/tech/boolean-search-tools
Try completing this Boolean Searching module from the University of Waterloo Libraries to familiarize yourself with Boolean searching.
Wikipedia is a very popular online encyclopedia. From its 2001 launch, the free, collaborative, multilingual encyclopedia project now represents the largest and most-read reference volume in history.
Importantly, Wikipedia entries can be created, added to, and edited by anyone.
As a tool for research, free online encyclopedias, such as Wikipedia, can be valuable resources, but there are several reasons why students should be cautious in using them:
Wikipedia and products like it should be treated with caution and must always be checked for accuracy. However, if used appropriately and critically, they can offer a useful starting point for many students undertaking research.
| DO | DON'T |
|---|---|
|
Use Wikipedia as a starting point (only!) for your research.
|
Use a Wikipedia page as a source in your EE! |
An easy-to-follow guide to finding and sorting information on any topic, explaining how to use a wide range of research tools and how to determine fact from fiction.
Matched to the new IB Guide, this essential resource provides learners with a step-by-step pathway to maximize achievement. With complete guidance for every aspect of writing and researching, use this resource to strengthen performance.
With the information provided here, writing research papers does not have to be frustrating or boring. It is possible to develop significant skills in order to make the writing process much easier, and the author explains the skills and strategies you need to efficiently and effectively complete a research project . In this book, the author offers a clear, simple, roadmap for conducting research and navigating the vast new world of information and technology. He details the entire research paper process from start to finish, and provides insightful and helpful information.
[This book] has helped college students address this fundamental issue in the form of a short, humorous graphic guide. It explains how information is organized, both on the open web and in library resources, and how to navigate those sources to find good, trustworthy answers. But the information landscape has changed dramatically in just a few years, and this revised edition explores new questions about who has access to information and about algorithmic bias in how search engines present results. The book also covers online misinformation and offers simple strategies for fact-checking websites. In addition to this expanded topical coverage, this . . . edition includes revised critical thinking exercises in every chapter to help students feel more engaged in improving the information landscape.