The York School Library: Middle &amp; Senior School Library: PHE- Physical Health and Education

PHE

Welcome to our Health and Fitness Page.

Our guide focuses on essential components including:

Physical fitness and active living resources
Mental and emotional wellness materials
Nutrition and healthy lifestyle choices
Sports science and movement skills
Practice Prevention

Whether you're researching for a class project, looking for workout guidelines, or seeking information about healthy lifestyle choices, this guide provides reliable, grade-appropriate resources to support your academic success and personal well-being.

Use the search box above to explore specific topics and access our collection of trusted databases, educational videos, scholarly articles, and interactive learning tools. All resources have been selected to align with your curriculum standards and support your learning goals.

Quick Links

Physical Activity Tips for Youth (12-17 years)

Canada's Food Guide: Healthy Eating at School

GL Teen Fitness

Take Charge of Your Health: A Guide for Teenagers

Quick Videos

Online Resources

Databases

PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Contains information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a premier platform of peer-reviewed literature published by Elsevier. It includes publications in the fields of Physical Sciences & Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences & Humanities. While most articles are paywalled, 1.4 million articles on ScienceDirect are open access.
FoodData Central This link opens in a new window
FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.
Federal Science Libraries Network This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Federal Science Libraries Network (FSLN) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.